Councillor Jamie Checkland

Profile image for Councillor Jamie Checkland

Party: Conservative

Ward: Leomansley

Other councillors representing this Ward:

Contact information

Home address: 
12 Longstaff Croft
WS13 7DP

Phone:  01543 256527

Mobile:  07881454394

Bus. email:

Download Councillor Jamie Checkland contact details as VCard

Committee appointments

Term of Office

  • 02/05/2019 -

Additional Information

What motivated you to become a councillor?


I have always been community minded ever since my days in scouting as a child. I was encouraged by other councillors to become one as I was involved in a number of areas that gives me an insight into how Lichfield works and felt I could help to improve things. I have particular understanding around sport in the area and young people. The role of councillor is a thankless task but having been in the police for 30 years until my retirement I am aware how infrequently the word thank you is used. Lichfield is a lovely place to live. I appreciate that, and want to give back where I can.



Background outside the council


I grew up in Four Oaks, Sutton Coldfield and attained a BA joint honours degree at Keel University in Maths and Education. I then fell into teaching as both of my parents were teachers. At 23 I made the decision to join the West Midlands police were I served in a number of uniformed roles across central Birmingham, Sandwell and Walsall. I left as an Inspector with a healthy understanding of communities and assessing people. I was Chair of St Peter and Pauls PTFA, I was in Lichfield Lions. Later I was a governor and then Chair at The Friary School. It was from here that it was suggested that I stand as a councillor in 2019.



Hobbies or interests


I run a badminton group (20 yrs.) at the Friary, where I also organise an over 35s football group (15yrs). I play both of these and I recently took up hockey(3yrs) at Lichfield Sports Club where 18 months ago I was asked to stand as Chair of the Joint management committee, a position I now hold. I like DIY on the cheap which is very useful and I like cooking, making homebrew and socialising.